Free

Moomins’ #OURSEA 1M Celebration: rarely seen Documentary of Tove Jansson

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Moomins’ #OURSEA 1M celebration: Join the "Haru, Island of the Solitary" livestream and experience a rarely seen documentary of Tove Jansson

About this Event

Did you know that Tove Jansson, the author of Moomins and one of the best Finnish fine artists, spent 30 summers on the tiny island of Klovharun with her partner Tuulikki?

Tove Jansson had a deep connection with the Baltic sea, which features in many of her stories and artworks, and loved spending time on this tiny island in the outermost archipelago of the Gulf of Finland, despite the lack of modern comforts.

"Haru, Island of the Solitary" is a wonderful testimony of those magical summers on the island. The rarely seen documentary is shot by Tuulikki Pietilä, a renowned graphic artist and Tove's partner of many years.

We are now giving everybody a unique chance to watch this beautiful documentary and to dream of island life together with Tove Jansson and Moomin fans from all over the world.

The livestream is organized to celebrate the #OURSEA campaign, which has raised already €1M to save the Baltic Sea and its unique heritage.

Register to this event to receive the link to the livestream of the "Haru, Island of the Solitary" documentary.

The documentary will be livestreamed on Youtube on April 14, 2021 at 18:00 Finnish time (EEST). The livestream will last for one hour.

We will begin the livestream with a short video with Sophia Jansson, Tove Jansson’s niece and Creative Director at Moomin Characters Ltd, introducing the island of Klovharun to us.

Join us to chat with other Moomin fans and witness a rare insight into Tove Jansson's life and adventures on her beloved island.

There will not be a recording of the stream, so registering and tuning in at the right time is your only chance to watch the documentary.

The language of the documentary is Swedish, but it includes English subtitles.

For Tove Jansson the Baltic Sea was a home and a source of safety, adventure and inspiration. She created the Moomin stories inspired by the beauty and power of the sea, and she headed to the little island of Klovharun when she needed space, freedom and creativity.

After her passing the Baltic Sea has become one of the most polluted seas in the world.

This is why Moomin Characters Ltd launched the #OURSEA campaign in 2020 in collaboration with the John Nurminen Foundation to help raise funds to save the Baltic Sea.

We have now reached the goal of €1M to save the Baltic Sea, and this is all due to the efforts and donations of wonderful people from all over the world.

We want to thank all the individuals and companies that have helped us achieve this incredible goal by sharing a very precious glimpse into the life of Tove Jansson and her relationship with the sea.

Remember to register to receive the link and have the unique chance to witness a piece of Tove Jansson's history. There won't be a recording of the livestream, so make sure to share the word with your friends as well.

Here is the starting time in other time zones:

  • 16:00 London, United Kingdom BST (UTC +1)
  • 17:00 Rome, Italy CEST (UTC +2)
  • 11:00 New York, USA EDT (UTC -4)
  • 08:00 Los Angeles, USA PDT (UTC -7)
  • 10:00 Chicago, USA CDT (UTC -5)
  • 00:00 Tokyo, Japan JST (UTC +9)

Remember to grab your ticket and add the event in your calendar to ensure you don't miss out!

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved